Analysis: Kent Far Ahead of Other Republican Rematches Winners

In the 2020 General Election, three Republicans – Young Kim, Claudia Tenney, and Maria Salazar – won rematches against the Democrats they had lost to in 2018 in the exact same districts. Joe Kent is already outpacing these other candidates in important metrics and is well on his way to defeating Marie Perez.

We are comparing the 2018/2020 cycles to the 2022/2024 cycles because they mirror the pattern of midterm/presidential elections. While Republicans also won rematches in 2022 after losing in 2020 (e.g. Derrick Van Orden), they were not exactly comparable because district lines were redrawn after the 2020 Census.

Joe Kent Lost by Less than All Republican Rematch Winners in their First Election.

While all of these Republicans lost by between 6.0% and 1.8% in 2018, they all went on to win in 2020. In 2022, Joe Kent lost by just 0.8%.

District Candidate Opponent 2018 Losing % 2020 Winning %
FL-27 Maria Salazar Donna Shalala 6.0% 2.8%
CA-39 Young Kim Gil Cisneros 3.2% 1.2%
NY-22 Claudia Tenney Anthony Brindisi 1.8% 0.3%
WA-3 Joe Kent Marie Perez 0.8%*

*2022 Result.

Joe Kent Outraised All Republican Rematch Winners at this point of their Winning Cycle.

District Candidate $ Raised through Q3 2019
NY-22 Claudia Tenney $1,270
FL-27 Maria Salazar $454,303
CA-39 Young Kim $816,278
WA-3 Joe Kent $1,075,527*

*Funds raised into Joe Kent Victory Fund and Joe Kent for Congress accounts through Q3 2023.